Legislation filed at the Massachusetts State House would impose cash penalties on (almost) anyone who’s not wearing a mask or face covering in public. Another fine would be imposed on those who have travelled and not self-quarantine for two weeks after they’ve arrived in Massachusetts from a COVID-19 hotspot – we’re talking to you Florida.
The bill – HD 5181 – was filed by three democrats – Reps. Jon Santiago and Mindy Domb and Sen. Harriette Chandler and its goal is to hold off a second surge. Technically much of this bill is already required through executive orders Gov. Charlie Baker has issued in the past. The legislation, if passed, would make it into a law.
Those who violate the face covering provision under the bill could be fined up to $100 for a second or subsequent offense. Those who violate the mandatory self-quarantine after travel could be fined up to $1,000.
The bill also calls for prioritizing testing for high-risk populations and for a stronger enforcement mechanism against workplace safety violations.
Leave A Comment