1 min readBy Published On: July 24th, 2020Categories: News0 Comments on New Rules for Travelers/Visitors entering Massachusetts

Beginning August 1st, things will change a bit when it comes to visiting/returning to Massachusetts from another state.

On Friday, Gov. Charlie Baker signed an executive order implementing new travel rules due to a surge in coronavirus cases in other states.

Visitors coming from out of state or residents returning to Massachusetts will have to fill out a health travel form and quarantine for 14 days — unless they can produce a negative COVID-19 test administered no more than 72 hours before arriving or after they get to Massachusetts.

People who don’t quarantine must provide proof of a negative test upon request. If you don’t comply, you are subject to a $500-per-day fine. (Yikes.)

The Details

The order includes college students returning to school for the fall semester.

There are exemptions, including for those from states with low transmission rates. Those states include New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont and Hawaii.

The governor asked Massachusetts employers not to send workers to states with high rates of COVID-19 transmission.

Hotels and Airbnb owners will also be required to inform travelers about this order upon arrival.

So there you go.

Leave A Comment